Ulmer, Heuretics and the fetishization of the 1%

Does the emphasis on invention get at the proper object of digital humanities? Does it simply expand the notion of the text while retaining the structural centrality of the text? Does this make any kind of sense? I’m trying to think through how Ulmer’s work has (or hasn’t) kept up with the expanding field and formats of digital media.

One thought on “Ulmer, Heuretics and the fetishization of the 1%

  1. Excellent contribution (and a brilliant ending!). I definitely can’t begin to “answer” the questions you pose, but I would like to thank you for identifying the seemingly self-contridictory invention/standardization shift of culture. Much of what we’ve read as a class I think points to this: we are encouraged to interact with “new” or unconventional media and technologies because expected forms are, in some senses, stifling to the inventiveness necessary to idea generation. Does this mean I can’t communicate my ideas best using words? No (and thank goodness, because I’m comfortable with words and have built a reputation on them), but I think it does mean that when we confine our messages to expected or standardized media, we limit our ability to invent… what’s the word I’m looking for?… independently? Dependence I suppose is the best word for that narrowing of the sphere of invention. If indeed the medium is the message, stale medium = stale message.

    Also, to add to your list of these confines in which we “create,” the hashtag phenomenon definitely embodies this tend toward categorization and association as opposed to pure, unconfined invention. I’m thinking of some friends of mine who compose tweets, statuses, and photo captions around the opportunity to use a particular hashtag. What’s even more disturbing is that these are sometimes the most witty things to appear in my news feed.

Leave a Reply

